Feeding Meat Birds

• 18 Replies

uktitan

Feeding Meat Birds
« on: October 01, 2010, 22:01 »
Greetings all,

My wife (peeppeeps) and I have been keeping various Hens for around 6 months now, and Fingers crossed we have not had many Major issues (apart from one black rock breaking her hip, and a few colds) We are Now thinking of venturing into Meat birds Ross Cobb to be precise. We asked a friend of ours in the US that keeps Cobbs and they said to give them a 22% protein  Crumb, then switch them to a 19% protein grower/finisher at 5-6weeks, MY issue is the Only Feed that i can find that comes Anywhere Close to that protein content is Turkey feed.

Is this safe to give Ross Cobb Chicks? he also told us to get some multi vitamin liquid to put in their water (which i forgot the name of  :D ) And as a treat he suggested Coconut Pulp ( or shredded/dessicated coconut)  Any help / advise is much appreciated.
I now have the chicken bug woot i love the Poland's

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
Re: Feeding Meat Birds
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2010, 23:40 »
Hi UKtitan and welcome!

Whereabouts are you in the world?  if you can add it to your profile, it would help us with your questions!

We feed our meat chicks on poultry chick crumb until they are 5 weeks old, then poultry rearer for a couple of weeks then onto poultry grower then a week before culling they are put onto plain finisher which has no medication in it or plain wheat or corn. 

We rear Hubbard JA 757's, prefer them to Ross Cobbs.  they can be slaughtered at 8 weeks, but we now grow them on to between 12 and 15 weeks. to get a better size.

If you can give me an idea of your location, I'll see if I can find out where you can get proper poultry feed rather than turkey food.  we never feed our turkeys on chicken feed and vice versa.

I don't know the % of ingredients, but can have a look tomorrow for you!

Casey76

« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2010, 23:44 »