Peas not germinating

• 5 Replies

shokkyy

• Mishka
Peas not germinating
« on: April 25, 2013, 22:47 »
On the 3rd I sowed a load of Kelvedon Wonder peas and there's still no sign of them. A day before that I sowed my Carouby mange tout and although they did take a bit longer than normal they were showing on the 19th. I did put some fleece over the KW, partly for a bit of warmth and partly to act as a mouse baffler, but that wouldn't stop them germinating would it? I really don't think the mice have got to them because mice always tend to leave perfect little round holes everywhere they dig up a pea, and there's no sign at all of disturbance to the soil. I can't believe they've rotted either, because it really hasn't been wet in the last couple of weeks.

I have to admit I've never tried KW before, but can anyone tell me how long they normally take to come up?

plum crumble

Re: Peas not germinating
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2013, 22:56 »
may I suggest a wee furtle in the soil to see what is happening? sounds like they've been munched..  :(

I sowed some last week in a length of drainpipe in a cold greenhouse, and they germinated within a week - will be put out on the lottie this weekend.
small, Welsh and almost certainly bonkers, but can be tamed with Talisker, if required

Growster...

« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2013, 23:00 »
It seems that peas are getting the hump this year, Shokkyy!

I sowed 36 'Misty'. in paper pots and nearly all of them rotted - even in a frost-free greenhouse! I also popped in 36 'Waverex', and they did much better, so we have at least a row for the first succession, and they're under debris netting as some sort of preotection.

Like you, I have a packet of Kelvedon Wonder, and perhaps a slightly different approach might be in order, as we're planning to sow them in plastic pots to get a good untangled root system going, then plant them out later.

(Just for further advice, the cucumber seeds rotted as well - and they were inside the house!)