Pond lining or preformed plastic?

• 1 Replies

Clarky86

Pond lining or preformed plastic?
« on: March 17, 2019, 18:48 »
Evening all.

I have 2 fantastic ponds that are teaming with wildlife. Both were put in by previous owners so have very little idea what is in there.

One has no fish in and the biggest has at least 2 decent sized mirror carp I think and a good handful of what look like black carp...

Both ponds have got alot of sludge in them from debris decomposition and the water is very dark, cannot see much more than a few centimetres deep.

I am looking to dig a new pond in a better location in the garden, one that has 2 sections again so similar to what I have now.

My question is what is best for a wildlife pond? Liners are more likely to deteriorate over time I but preformed ones are probably better to clean I guess but then do I want to clean a wildlife pond?

I'm a total novice to ponds but i really want my ponds I have now but in a different location away from the house ( currently about a meter away from conservatory and the amount of flies we have in during the summer )
I will over lap the installation of my new pond and removal of the old so that wildlife can acclimatise itself to it and for it to settle.

Any advice would be really appreciated.

Thanks

RubyRed

• Experienced Member
Re: Pond lining or preformed plastic?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2019, 22:02 »