Beetroot

• 12 Replies

Rexmundi

• Experienced Member
Beetroot
« on: May 01, 2015, 16:50 »
I have sown beetroot in small cells and they have been under a plastic cloche for the past couple of weeks and (woo hoo) they have started to germinate!  Plan to put them into raised beds when they are big enough.

This is my first time at growing beetroot, does any of you lovely people have any useful advice for me?

Thanks
Scotland, 95% pure Scottish since 08/05/2015

snowdrops

Re: Beetroot
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2015, 17:33 »
Stick 'em in & harvest when they are the size you want :).
A woman's place is in her garden.

See my diary pages here
and add a comment here

Fairy Plotmother

« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2015, 19:32 »
Snap what Snowy says  :) they are easy peasy.

Rexmundi

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2015, 21:07 »
Thanks, I'd be grateful to know if they need any feeding? And what size would you expect them to grow to - is there a variation in size depending on variety or are they all the same?

Cheers :)

AnneB

« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2015, 21:13 »
Thanks, I'd be grateful to know if they need any feeding? And what size would you expect them to grow to - is there a variation in size depending on variety or are they all the same?

Cheers :)

I have never fed my beetroot with anything, but the soil is in good condition before I sow (I sow direct now due to lack of space for things in cells and pots).  Beetroot do vary a lot in size and shape.   This year I am growing 4 varieties,  Chioggia, Touchstone Gold and Sanguina.  All of these are  'standard ' beetroot size.  I am also growing Dobbie's Purple from the Heritage Seed Library.  This is an absolute monster, being like a giant thick parsnip when mature.   It's not woody though and extremely tasty. 

Fairy Plotmother

« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2015, 21:14 »