Adopting Battery Hens

• 7 Replies

beth123

• Experienced Member
Adopting Battery Hens
« on: September 03, 2010, 21:43 »
Hi there

I'm new to looking after chickens and was wondering if it would be a good idea to adopt some battery hens.

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Re: Adopting Battery Hens
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2010, 21:52 »
It's a great idea but not an easy option.

They come to you with a lot of problems and can be very challenging although very rewarding.

tammyc

« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2010, 22:14 »
Hi,

I'm new on here too but I can advise on ex bats  :D

We decided to get some last summer, arranged with the local 'pick up' team to collect 3 girls from Coventry.  Three is the minimum they let you have if you don't already have chickens, because sometimes one dies from stress and they don't want the remaining one to be alone.

When we got them they were quite bald, thin and gasping for breath (stressed)
We took them home, put them in their brand new coop and left them overnight.

When they came out the next day they were bemused by everything, grass, sunshine, wind, EVERYTHING!....you don't realise how much these girls miss out on in the farm.

We bought smallholder Ex batt pellets and started the 'rebuilding' process.  Unfortunately one of ours did die within the first 48 hours due to stress but the other 2 are still with us.

Within a week they were putting themselves to bed, getting out of the rain and coming to us when we called them, very friendly.

I would definatley recommend getting ex bats, friendly, funny and good for the kids to collect eggs from (if you have kids) but unfortunately they don't live quite as long as other hardy hens.  From the advice I've been given tonight on other posts I think my girls laying days are now over but they are still great pets.

Hope this helps with your dilemma! and i've added a photo of the day we got
them :-)

Tammy x
DSC_0396.JPG

tammyc