wine making books

• 5 Replies

mrsbean

wine making books
« on: July 20, 2012, 22:01 »
saw in earlier thread ccj berry,s book mentioned,been lookin on amzn mixed reviews about it. want easy to follow receipes,recomendations please.

grinling

Re: wine making books
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2012, 22:08 »
I bought it with abebooks and have just done 2 demijohns of gooseberry wine. Receipes very well done and easy to follow and as a beginner I like it.

Growster...

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2012, 05:03 »
This is our 'Bible' for winemaking Mrs Bean!

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/The-Boots-Book-of-Home-Wine-Making-and-Brewing-B-C-A-Turner-/320949328864?pt=Fiction&hash=item4aba121be0

B.C.A. Turner's book has nearly everything you need, but some of the stuff like yast etc has much improved since we started in 1972...

VegGirl7

• Experienced Member
    • allotmentforaginghomebrewadventures
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2012, 11:28 »
I have "first steps in winemaking" by CJJ Berry and find it a very useful book to have at hand. 

There's loads of recipes in it and all the basic information you need to know (tables for sugar/alcohol content, formulae for working it out etc...)

I'd never expect 1 book to be the single source of truth/advice on any subject - I have numerous gardening books with contradictory information but, with a bit of common sense, help from people here in the forum and trial and error you can usually figure it out...

Personally I would recommend it  :)

Alastair-I

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2012, 14:45 »
On my bookshelf are First Steps in Winemaking by CJJ Berry and Booze for Free by Andy Hamilton.  I'd recommend them both to anyone taking up the arts of fermentation.  They both have very easy to follow recipes, Andy's book is easier to read and he makes more use of already in the home ingredients (cold tea instead of tannin) and he covers more than just wine (including soft drinks), but Berry is more comprehensive on wine-making.

mrsbean