Welsummer vs. Barnevelder?

• 5 Replies

laurabee

Welsummer vs. Barnevelder?
« on: March 28, 2009, 19:06 »
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to chicken keeping and currently have just two - a gold legbar and a gold campine. They both lay white eggs so I'd like to increase my flock with some that lay a few different colours. I've found a place reasonably close that breeds cream legbars, Barnevelders and Welsummers so am thinking I could get a couple from there. One will be a cream legbar, but not sure whether to go for the Barnevelder or Welsummer - any thoughts? I'd like a reasonable number of eggs, but personality is more important really. I like the look of both of them, so not bothered lookswise! By the way, yes I do need to choose just one - I already have a couple of little buff rock bantams on order and only want 6 in total so they have plenty of space. Would like more if we ever move and have more space, but 6 is the limit for now!

Any advice / experience much appreciated!

alotment shed

Re: Welsummer vs. Barnevelder?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2009, 19:36 »
id have Barnevelder every day i find there more friendly  . where welsummers never seem to be tame.  but at the end of the day its up to you . i realy do like welsummers but the Barnevelder win for what you want them for .

Vember

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2009, 19:52 »
I have a couple of Barneys L/F :) They are beautiful birds and lay a lovely reddish/brown colour egg :)
Of all the birds I have I find they are the most aloof :) They mix well with the other birds but definitely not pick up and cuddly as my others :D

Hope that helps :)

Welcome to the Hen House btw :D

Sarah :D

treacleminer

« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2009, 09:14 »
If they are a small place they may be reluctant to separate the breeds unless they have been brooded together.  When I got my Light Sussex, I was hoping to have one LS & one Maran as that was what the man bred, but he wanted the siblings to stay together so I ended up with 2 LS.