Vine advice

• 8 Replies

AledE

Vine advice
« on: October 26, 2009, 14:55 »
As mentioned in http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=47190.0, I've inherited a greenhouse complete with a vine.

Do I need to do anything special with the vine over winter? Is it ok to leave him in there? He's in a pot and the soil looked a bit dry, so I've been watering him. There are about a dozen bunches of ripened grapes on him, what's the best plan for these?

Thanks for all your help!

fekq

• Experienced Member
Re: Vine advice
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2009, 16:05 »
my other half is the vine-keeper at ours, so I'm no expert. but I do know he cut ours back this weekend. you trim them back each year to a certain height to encourage the growth next year of more fruiting branches. Although it sounds like yours is fruiting well already!

Dolce vita

• Wildlife meadow part of garden
    • selfcateringcalabria
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2009, 16:16 »
I have a small vineyard here in Italy so my exp is in outdoor grapes but you still need to cut them back to have grapes next year. This is what I have read about greenhouse grapes. After harvesting your ripe grapes you should stop watering the vine and let it lose its leaves and go dormant for the winter. When all the leaves have dropped and the canes have gone woody, cut all the lateral shoots back to 1 bud. These will grow the new shoots for next years grapes as the grapes grow on the new growth not old wood. Good luck.  :D

AledE

« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2009, 16:21 »
The fruits are uneven in size however. I'd say about half are what you'd consider 'supermarket' grapes, the rest are quite small, green pea sized and smaller. Is this indicative of a shortage of sun?  Next door's apple and pear trees are a bit over barring , 'never been trimmed them in the 20 years we've been here', Carol, our neighbour said.

diggerjoe

« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2009, 17:19 »