Pak Choi

• 12 Replies

summer rose

Pak Choi
« on: May 22, 2010, 13:47 »
Hello everyone,
I am a novice vegetable grower and new to this site. I have planted some pak choi and to my disappointment noticed that they are being eaten rather quickly by some unknown! The leaves are all bitten away! Also do I remove the flowers that are appearing? Has anyone got the  solution for me as to what I should do next?

gillie

Re: Pak Choi
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2010, 16:33 »
The bug eating them might be flea beetle.  However if the pak choi is flowering it has bolted and will not be any use.

Pak choi is very good at bolting!  A lot of people recommend sowing it in September as an autumn crop to prevent this.  Sow it where you intend it to grow.  Transplanting encourages bolting (ask me how I know!).

Gillie

boosh

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2010, 17:12 »
Hello Summer rose and welcome to the forums.
I will be sowing Pak Choi for the first time this year, i have also been told it hates to much heat and bolts quicker than a horse out the stables,  :lol: also pigeons have a fondness for it, so i will be sowing it under some debris netting to give it protection and shade, fingers crossed.  :)

catllar

« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2010, 18:38 »
It is a member of the brassica family, so the old cabbage white caterpillars love it too. Personally I have given up on it and buy it from the Chinese supermarket! (By the way you can stirfry the flowers!)

SG6

« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2010, 19:21 »
Tried it and it bolted. It is tropical, Thailand etc, so heat shouldn't affect it. Looked into it and the opinion is that being tropical it has developed to expect an equal amount of day and night.

In the summer here the day is longer then the night so it bolts. Sowing late August to early September means the equinox so the Pak Choi sees equal day and night so doesn't bolt.

Fortunately it grows fast so we can get a crop before the cold and the long nights short days arrive.

Cazzy