World war three in the coop

• 11 Replies

french bob

World war three in the coop
« on: July 23, 2011, 17:33 »
Hi all,

I have been keeping chickens for about 18 months. I started with 4. One just vanished one day and one I had to put down because she became very ill. I think it was mareks (spelling).  ???

About 3 months ago I bought 2 more chooks. When they were put together I had the usual argy bargy but after a few days all was well.

About 10 days a go I noticed that one of the original chooks was attacking one of the new birds. The attacks were so vicious that the attacked bird was having neck feathers torn out. Even when the chooks had settled for the night the attacks continued.

For the last 4 days the newer bird has refused to leave the pen. I lifted her out yesterday, I wasn’t sure if she was eating. The effect was amazing she tried to get away from me as soon as she saw her attacker. The attacker just threw her to the ground and started to tear out her neck feathers, she just ran back to the coop and hid under a staging. There she has stayed since.  :(

I know that chooks have their own rules but this has just come out of the blue, the other 2 chickens take no part in any of the fighting. I don’t think I can do anything but if anyone has any advice I would be grateful.
Another fine day for drinking French wine

bantam novice

Re: World war three in the coop
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2011, 19:02 »
You could try removing bully chicken for a day or two.  She will then have to work her own way back into the pecking order. Keep the purple spray ready in case you see raw or blooming patches on the bullied chicken. It can be horrible and distressing to watch.  :(

Good luck and keep us posted.
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

Junie

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2011, 23:28 »