Blanche's hips

• 7 Replies

susan - happy hens

Blanche's hips
« on: May 29, 2011, 15:38 »
hello, I hope someone can shed some light on what's happening to Blanche.  She seems to hav e sunk down into her hips and doesn't stand up straight on her legs. I noticed her feet have been turning in and she walks more with a waddle and can't run.  She is a rescue hen and is about 3 years old.  Other than that she doesn't seem to be in pain and is a good weight and eating well. Any help would be great.  Thanks. 
Susan

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
Re: Blanche's hips
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2011, 18:39 »
Hi Susan, has she been laying regularly lately?  Could she be egg bound?  I am not experienced but hope that someone will give you some advice soon.
Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens!
Bagpuss RIP 1992 - June 2012, 1 huge grass carp (RIP "Jaws" July 2001 - December 2011), 4 golden orfe, 1 goldfish and 1 fantail fish (also huge)! plus 4 Italian quail, 1 Japanese quail, 1 Rosetta quail.

susan - happy hens

« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2011, 10:00 »
Hi She was a rescue hen and only ever laid the odd egg but I have checked her and she's not egg bound.  It's like her back end has collapsed.  I just wondered if someone who has older ladies has seen this before.  The other two who are the same age are grand.  Thanks.

ANHBUC

« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2011, 21:47 »
I am quite surprised someone more experienced has not suggested anything for you.  Think it might be because it is a bank holiday.  Hope you get some good advice soon.  Good luck.   :)

susan - happy hens

« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2011, 22:44 »