Egg laying mystery

• 7 Replies

Bonniebean

• Experienced Member
Egg laying mystery
« on: December 25, 2009, 21:54 »
As I am new to egg laying habits and so is Sky, I wanted to ask if her behaviour is 'normal' for a newbie layer. She has produced an egg for the last three days at totally different times (around 6am, then 11am, then 4pm) and a different place each time (corner of the coop, middle of the coop, under the coop). Has anyone else had this experience? She seems quite happy with herself and doing everything else normally, apart from developing an obsession with me!   :unsure:

dizzylizzie

Re: Egg laying mystery
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2009, 22:13 »
That is perfectly normal-dont worry. :D

Foxy

« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2009, 23:08 »
I have a young bantam that has just come into lay (this past week) its needed a bit of detective work to try and find her eggs at the moment! :tongue2: So dont worry she is probably looking to find somewhere she is happy to lay. Good time to make sure her diet is rich in calcium at the mo, maybe have some oyster shell in a pot for her to peck at. :D

Bonniebean

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2009, 09:18 »
Thanks, that makes me feel better! They have grit available in two places, mash for breakfast with poultry spice, mealworms when I've cleaned them out, grapes and spinach early afternoon, mixed corn before bed and cabbage available all day - do you think that is ok Foxy? When Sky had laid her 4pm egg yesterday the others were getting ready to go to bed but she was hungry and thirsty so I got her some extra corn and sat with her until she'd had enough to eat and drink and went to bed.
When I was getting my last shopping before getting the girls I asked for oyster shell but they didn't want to sell it to me, only grit! I will have another go when they reopen. ::)

Foxy

« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2009, 11:50 »
If her eggshells are nice and strong, I expect she is absolutely fine!