Curly Kale

• 7 Replies

hubballi

Curly Kale
« on: March 03, 2009, 07:21 »
I am a novice so please forgive me. I planted some Curly kale last summer on reading that it was an easy and pest free veg to grow. This wasn't the case as it only every got to about 3 inches high. The slugs also ravaged them too so 3 out of six survived. I fed them with seaweed and comfrey . They are picking up again now with new healthy leaves.

The question is, shall I continue to grow these for another season so I have them big for  winter or should I plant new ones again. I am just a bit reluctant to grow any more as they are so difficult to get going.

Thanks.

lucywil

• http://ourallotments.blogspot.com/
Re: Curly Kale
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2009, 07:48 »
replant new ones. strange i have never had any problems with them, the pigeons did attack them when we had all the snow but that was because it was the only thing they could get to.

did you start them off in pots then plant them out? i find it gives things a head start from the slugs

Stripey_cat

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2009, 10:21 »
The ones you have now will bolt to seed in a few more months.  However, they may well produce some useful greens between now and then, so I'd leave them in until you actually need the room for something else.  The next month or two are going to be maddening for lack of green-stuffs, as the overwintered brassicas and chard start to bolt, and our new sowings are still tiny - I was reduced to bulking up chard with gone-over rocket last night (it tastes quite nice, actually, like mustard greens once it's cooked, but it isn't stylish).

Aidy

• Location: Born n bred Lancastrian living in tropical Blackpool
    • Aidy Neal Photography
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2009, 11:42 »
I am shocked you have had problems, kale was the only greens to survive the plague of caterpillars this year. As above take what you can over the next few weeks then start a fresh lot for the coming winter/spring.