Sick Chicken ???

• 3 Replies

mansekat

Sick Chicken ???
« on: May 18, 2010, 20:50 »
Hi
Im a newbie..I got my first flock of five girls today only had them home a few hours  ::) When I picked them up they all seemed fine checked everything the books advised me too it all looked good. Since getting them home I have been regularly checking on them and just noticed the ISA Brown has got clear nasal bubbles it’s not a discharge as such and doesn’t smell it’s been eating and drinking well. I feel like a neurotic first time parent  :unsure: just wanted some advice on whether or not I should be worried and what I should be doing.  

hillfooter

Re: Sick Chicken ???
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2010, 03:14 »
First be sure this is not just due to her having just drunk.  If this is due to a nasal discharge you are right to be concerned and unfortunately this is all too common a story.  Moving birds is stressful for them and this can cause latent infections to break out.

Mycoplasmosis is one such and is known as stress disease.  It attacks their upper respiratory system producing the sort of 'cold' symptoms you describe.  The risk is that the mucus lining of the respiratory tract is damaged which allows other infections to gain entry to the bird and which can be far more serious.