Dangers of using manure?

• 23 Replies

Trikidiki

Re: Dangers of using manure?
« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2010, 23:11 »
I've only ever, in my 56 years of life, had two tetanus jabs :tongue2: - the first one was when I chopped the tip of my finger off with electric hedge trimmers :( (I never use them now, I use the good old fashioned shears :D), and the second jab was only a booster 10 yrs later - I was in my early 40s when I had my booster :wub:.  I also always wear gardening gloves when I'm working on the allotment 8).  My day job is a legal secretary :wacko:, and I like to keep my hands looking nice, so I don't have ingrained dirt or any cuts. :)

You may be right but I would suspect you had a course of tetanus as a child judging by your age, it was standard practice. Generally it is the over 65s that were not immunised.

As said previously, once you've had your complete course as a child you only need (I believe) another two shots to give you life long immunity.

No, its not anthrax but it does kill.

We do have a low incidence of Tetanus in this country due to the vaccination of children. Most cases are in older people who did not receive the vaccine as a child

How many of us cut, graze or prick themselves and rush off to clean it. Usually its a case of I'll deal with it when I've finished, unless its a serious cut. Unfortunately by then its too late. If you are not up to date or have complete immunity, unless you get treatment immediately the bacteria will gain a hold and start producing toxins before your body can respond by producing antibodies, een if a tetanus jab is given after the injury.

Why take the risk? The injection is no worse than scragging yourself on a rose bush anyway.

lacewing

« Reply #16 on: April 01, 2010, 07:24 »
Prevention is always better than cure.
And horse manure is great stuff if handled with care. I certainly won't stop using it,  just  practice good old fashioned hygine.