feather loss

• 2 Replies

Maeve

feather loss
« on: June 29, 2011, 14:56 »
I have been keeping hens for about 3 years now but still feel a novice so would really appreciate any advice.  I have 4 hens - a Black Rock, a Welsummer and 2 Rhode Island Reds.  They are all active, healthy and laying prolifically but look a mess.
They are all almost bare-breasted despite having straw in the nesting boxes as I thought the litter was too rough; three of them have bare bottoms and undercarriages and even the Welsummer who has a "frilly knickers" bottom, is a bit ragged; the RIRs have no feathers on the lower half of their backs. 
Part of the problem I know is feather pecking by the Black Rock and Welsummer (numbers 1 and 2 in the pecking order) but as even they look dishevelled and as the RIRs NEVER peck them and they don't seem to peck each other, I think there must be a further problem.
They do seem to peck at themselves a lot (or what seems a lot to me), almost as if they are itchy.  I tried using louse powder a while ago but it did not seem to make much difference.  Should I persevere or try something else? 
They are in a run for most of the time but are let out into the garden for several hours every day.  Apologies for this long post but I have tried to give all relevant details.

SMS6

Re: feather loss
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2011, 15:07 »
well I'm probably more of a novice than you so not qualified to answer but one of my hens started pulling feathers from the back of the other two and Ibought some of that anti-pecking spray.  It worked straight away.

OpiumEater

• Experienced Member
Re: feather loss
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2011, 22:16 »
Hi Mauve, I don't know if you got your problem sorted, but I had similar issues and a bit stuck as to what to do as the anti-pecking spray just made then look all sticky and did not help as they still plucked feathers from the back area.