New to this forum? Not sure how to do things? Check out the help

Beginner

• 10 Replies

WhyteFawn

Beginner
« on: March 04, 2016, 14:28 »
Hi Everyone

I am brand new to keeping an allotment. Just got the site key and ready to get cracking on all that grass at the weekend. Hoping to get lots of hints and tips from you guys to help me out!

Thanks
Cassie

Fairy Plotmother

Re: Beginner
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2016, 15:19 »
Hello Cassie and welcome to your new world. First piece of advice........take it slow and easy.

sunshineband

• Global Moderator
  • Tallest Sunflower prizewinner 2014
    • A Little Bit of Sunshine
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2016, 17:58 »
Hi Cassie and welcome. It is really exciting getting your first plot, isn't it?

There is lots to read in Articles and Advice in the green ribbon at the top of the page, which should keep you busy this evening!

Best of luck --  look forward to seeing some photos
Wisdom is knowing what to ignore - be comfortable in your own skin.
My Blog
My Diary
My Diary Comments

Baldy

• Hey Ho Lets Grow!
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2016, 18:41 »
Welcome along...
My advice is to not try to do everything at once - clear a bit and plant it up - then on to the next and so on. I've seen too many spend a month totally clearing the plot then giving up 'cos all they are doing is hard work and not growing. Obviously different if you have a team of navvies available.

Pip pip,
Balders

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2016, 19:51 »
Welcome to the site and congrats on your new lotty  :D

If you pop your general location into your forum profile it'll help when we're chatting about growing stuff  :)

The first piece of advice has to be to take photos before you get started - it'll really help you to look back on your progress.

The second piece of advice is to make sure you have a thermos flask.

The third piece of advice, then, is to take it slowly and in stages  :D