Skip stuff

• 24 Replies

stentman

• Experienced Member
Skip stuff
« on: September 26, 2009, 18:03 »
I am new to allotmenteering and also new to this forum but after reading about "Obtaining" useful stuff from skips I took the plunge. With just a little trepidation I asked the builder working on a nearby house extension if I could rumage through the skip "Dive in he said" the home owner even said come back later if you wish I now have enough useable timber for two more small raised beds, result. Thanks to one and all on here for the suggestion. Skip diving it's the way ahead :D  
« Last Edit: September 26, 2009, 21:01 by stentman »
Stents keeping things open 24/7

If one way be better than another, that you can be sure is natures way. Aristotle 384BC - 322BC

agapanthus

Re: Skip stuff
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2009, 18:24 »
It's great is'nt it!!!!! Nothing better than a good delve!!!
Munty got 17 brand new doors from the building site skip the other day. With a bit of luck he'll make me my own workshop now!!!! :D :D :D

stentman

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2009, 20:44 »
The building job for whatever reason has to remove the pitch roof of the garage on the house in question. So it gets better, my mate has an aga type wood burner thing. The remaining timber is no good for raised beds but ideal for his burner and winters coming. We chat I get the rest of the wood from the skip give it to him, he gives me four galvanised steel tubes about 3 feet high and 18" dia which look purpose built to grow spuds in. :D 

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2009, 21:12 »
Can I just remind all UK members that taking stuff out of skips without the specific permission of the skip owner is theft.  :)
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

agapanthus

« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2009, 22:08 »