Ex-batts vs Partridge chickens...advice please

• 4 Replies

Carla

• Experienced Member
Ex-batts vs Partridge chickens...advice please
« on: August 09, 2010, 11:33 »
Hi all, I'm new to this whole chicken keeping malarkey, but am VERY excited at getting 3 ex-battery girls on 22nd AAugust. Problem is, there's a pub closing down by me, and they keep chickens (very badly, poor things) and they desperately need them all rehomed by next Sunday. I have the space for a couple, but I dont know if my ex-batts will be very happy at having to move in with an already established group. Anyone got any advice on whether I should take the chickens on Sunday or just leave them to someone else, as the ex-batts are my main concern at the moment. Thanks in advance, Carla xxx
Many pets, a bloke and 2 kids....help!!!

Jeanette

Re: Ex-batts vs Partridge chickens...advice please
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2010, 11:55 »
With ex bats i find it is best if they are on their own. Because of the life they have had they can be weak on their legs and they will need some TLC they have been use to fighting for food and water so will not take well to others. You should also quarantine any other chickens that you get so that no germs or illness can be past on.
Good luck with your girls, they will soon turn into beautiful girls and once they get use to you they are very friendly and will soon be following you around. I would not be without my ex bats. Sorry i forgot to say welcome to the site. :)

Thingy

• Experienced Member
  • Budding Animal Behaviourist :)
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2010, 17:01 »
Hi,

I put my ex batts in a seperate part of the coop to my excisting flock but they all escaped over anyway and no major arguments broke out...then again my original ex batts are used to the coming and going of chickens and that may be the reason why. If you were going to both chickens, I would get them at the same time, then they are all in the same boat as it were :)

Welcome to the forums by the way :)