Advice please as caterpillars eating my honesty plants

• 15 Replies

Novice but totally hooked

• Experienced Member
I'm fairly new to this gardening lark and have just got my first flower bed looking reasonable (for its first year although I need to start filling it out to give a longer season of colour).

I've got a beautiful honesty plant that a friend gave me and which was doing really well but when I looked at it this morning it's a skeleton at the top.  It is difficult to see the remains of the leaves for caterpillars :-(

I don't really agree with using chemicals unless I have to but what should I do?  Will the caterpillars eventually kill the plant or will they just ruin it for this year and it'll bounce back next year?

Should I get rid of the little munchers or just leave them?  I know we should be encouraging butterflies and I want to do this but if these are moths I'm not so keen (can't stand the things).

Advice please.

tode

Re: Advice please as caterpillars eating my honesty plants
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2009, 11:01 »
I would say keep them as long as they're not cabbage whites (Try Googling "cabbage white caterpillar" for pictures).
We have quite a bit of honesty, which resows itself profusely, but never seen any caterpillars on em. Strange.

SG6

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2009, 11:50 »
As best I recall honesty is an annual and will reseed itself everywhere, to the extent of becoming a nuisence.

Also never heard of catapillers being a problem on it.

Any chance that it is not honesty? I ask as you describe it as a beauitiful plant and the honesty I remember was always a single stem plant of no great substance.

Will admit here that I could have the wrong plant going round my head.

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2009, 12:50 »
Almost certain they are honesty.  The friend who gave me the plants is a (very knowledgeable) garden fanatic whose garden I would kill for.