Various queries again!!! Advice needed.

• 27 Replies

AmandaLouise

• Experienced Member
Various queries again!!! Advice needed.
« on: January 31, 2012, 14:15 »
Hi everyone

I feel I am a little in limbo at the moment with the allotment.  I have done little jobs like washing pots, and tidying up.  Its my first year.  I have 5 clear beds so far, with a few small weeds to pick out.  I have plans for a 4 year crop rotation.  But the soil just looks waterlogged and clayey at the moment, I cant imagine it ever having stuff growing in them.  I haven’t dug or raked it yet as it has been permanently saturated and muddy.

When I looked at the month by month planner it looks like soil should be sat ready and prepared for spring planting, but I cant get a right time to dig it over.  I am in Manchester and it has been raining constantly.  I suppose the main thing is the beds are cleared of 3 year old weeds, I guess so that’s good.  I think I just have a bit of allotment envy at my neighbours!  I have read digging wet soil can disturb and damage the soil so I have left it undug. 

Furthermore I don’t have any well rotted manure, only bags of compost, which I believe will be suffice for my potato bed.

Brassicas – I have some lime and will dig some compost when I can eventually dig

Peas and Legumes – these sound like they are hardy so if I just fertilise with some blood fish bone will that be ok?

Roots – I plan on blood fish bone 2 weeks before sowing.

I don’t have a compost yet, we need to build one.

I will have 2 spare beds, I don’t know what to do with these, any creative ideas welcome, but I have enough on my plate with the above I guess!

Cheers
Amanda.

stompy

Re: Various queries again!!! Advice needed.
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2012, 14:28 »
As for the waterlogging, don't worry about it, like you've said it's been raining constantly where you are so it's bound to be very wet.