Growing Lettuce

• 7 Replies

xhappychickx

• 1 rhode island, 1 maran, 1 baby leghorn
Growing Lettuce
« on: April 18, 2011, 10:42 »
Hi Everyone,
I am new to this growing your own veg lark and I have just started growing lettuce, though I didn't plant individual seeds and now I have a lot of lettuce all tangled. I have tried to separate but very fragile.
Should I just re-start planting my lettuce or is it too late?

Any help much appreciated

Paula

Dreamer@45

Re: Growing Lettuce
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2011, 10:51 »
Hi Paula

Just be gentle as you untangle the seedling roots then pot on into individual pots to grow on. Lettuce are tougher than they look……Just make sure you keep them nicely watered and they should be fine. If you want a continuous supply of lettuce sow a few seeds every couple of weeks. Hope this helps. :)

compostqueen

« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2011, 10:52 »
Sowing lettuce can be tricky as the seed is so small, but it usually says on the packet to sow sparingly so you avoid the tangle. You live and learn  :D

I potted mine on at the weekend, quite successfully, and they are now all growing away happily in modules. I got three seedlings to a module. I'm using those trays with 12 modules in. I suppose 3 per module might be too many but I had sown far too many  :D  Once potted on I water them from the bottom by placing the trays into a bigger tray filled with water with plant food in it.  They will go into the allotment and garden when they're big enough.  

You can sow lettuces direct if you wish as well to save on the potting on  :)  I sowed far too many but I can use some as swops  :)

Good luck with them  :)

« Last Edit: April 18, 2011, 11:04 by compostqueen »

xhappychickx

« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2011, 11:01 »
Thanks for your advice :)

hamstergbert

« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2011, 17:42 »