What to do with "used" compost

• 5 Replies

JoandSteve

What to do with "used" compost
« on: June 26, 2010, 09:31 »
We're very new at this allotment business, having been allocated one about 6 weeks ago, so not much chance of anything decent this summer. However, we have some potatoes and tomatoes in growbags and sacks. Can the compost from these be dug into the allotment, to aid its nutrient levels, or is it of no use?

Starling

• Experienced Member
Re: What to do with "used" compost
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2010, 09:36 »
This is my first year too, I have been adding the used compost to the soil, not sure there are any nutrients left but it adds structure to my clay soil

Zippy

« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2010, 09:40 »
My buckets of potatoes have been tipped out and harvested, then re-filled witht he spent compost and planted with lettuce (a non-demanding plant), harvested and then planted with fennel and lamb's lettuce.  So providing you follow with plants that do not have hungry appetites you can keep compost going for quite a while before it goes to condition the soil, which is another great use for it.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2010, 12:08 by Zippy »

Livinhope

« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2010, 09:43 »
We're very new at this allotment business, having been allocated one about 6 weeks ago, so not much chance of anything decent this summer. However, we have some potatoes and tomatoes in growbags and sacks. Can the compost from these be dug into the allotment, to aid its nutrient levels, or is it of no use?

You can still plant spring onions, spring cabbage seeds, beetroot, french beans,  give it a go it will inspire you for next year. :D

Trikidiki

« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2010, 18:29 »
After its first use it will be pretty much depleted of all nutrients.

Mix in some BFB and do as suggested above and get a catch crop of lettuce or something else quick growing.