PRETTY PLEASE HELP! PROLASPED CHICKEN

• 6 Replies

gemhens

PRETTY PLEASE HELP! PROLASPED CHICKEN
« on: August 22, 2012, 13:08 »
Hello.

I am new to chicken keeping and yesterday i noticed my lovely Dotty has a sore and droopy vent- thanks to graphic internet pics and advice i diagonised this as a prolapse :-((

I put some sugar on her sore vent as adviced and pushed back inside, she seemed ok after it but i popped her in a box in my house overnight.

Today she has been lethagic, i gave her a warm bath and cleaned her up a bit and then popped her back in her box outside. She came out of the box, drank some water (i added some honey to it to build energy) then toddled off to her nest box, where she has remained all day. She is only small and has been laying quite decent sized eggs, however thankfully she hasnt laid today. She is looking down in the dumps, however did chat to me a little before, but nothing near her usual happy self. She is also not eating.

Please can anyone help? What can i do? I am heartbroken seeing her like this :-(( who knew you could live a children so much after two weeks! Thank you a million times over for any help!

gemhens

Re: PRETTY PLEASE HELP! PROLASPED CHICKEN
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2012, 13:18 »
**lvove a chicken rather ha!*

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2012, 13:37 »
She may be having difficulty in laying an egg with the prolapse.  If you can give her a warm bath for 20 minutes or so and dry her gently with hairdryer on low setting it may help.  If she is unable to lay she will be egg bound which you don't want.  Not sure if I have read of people using vaseline or cooking oil to lube the vent area which may also help.  People have also used hemroid cream to shrink the prolapse.  Hopefully someone else may give you more detailed help.  Good luck with Dotty.   :)
Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens!