Rotovating technique

• 15 Replies

warmrain

Rotovating technique
« on: August 10, 2012, 01:00 »
I am a beginner at this rotovating lark and find that once the initial top layer of harder soil has been breached the rotor tines rapidly dig themselves in so deep, they get stuck in a pit and cannot move forward.  Also the weight of the old Merry Tiller I am using aggravates this action of "digging itself into a hole".  I am not quite sure where I should be setting the depth bar -- or whether it is doing very much at all!  I am sure there must be a knack to it and my technique is not right.

Any tips?

muckshifter

• Experienced Member
Re: Rotovating technique
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2012, 21:04 »
Have sometimes found that lightly weaving the machine from left to right as you go forward helps the tines bite into fresh ground and keep up the momentum.

Fen

• Experienced Member
  • Location: Five feet above sea level, between Ely and Cambridge
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2012, 22:32 »
I've had the same problem. If the soil is solid set the depth foot shallow and cover the ground two or three times increasing the depth each time. If it digs in push down on the handles, pivit it on the depth stop and set of again at a slight angle.

R Tallentire

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2012, 09:42 »
Whilst the above advice is correct for when you get into a hole you can’t get out of, I feel it should be stated that when being used normally you do the exact opposite, i.e. you continually lift the handles (and therefore the skid) slightly. This makes the machine try to move forwards and take a bite out of the new soil. Pressing down momentarily to “anchor” the machine, only if the tynes are taking too shallow a cut. Revs should be set as low as the machine will go without stalling. It is always easier to control the machine when two pairs of rotors are fitted, but on hard ground you have to go over with one pair first. This doesn’t seem to apply to your situation.