What heirloom plants do you grow?

• 16 Replies

deedee71

« on: May 26, 2008, 11:25 »
I am new to the idea of heirloom veg and i am very interested in growing some, but there is not a lot of info around.

So, i was wondering if anyone has grown them, if so, what type of veg have you grown and where did you get the seeds from please? And what did you think of the end result? :?:

poultrygeist

« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2008, 12:13 »
Wossat then ??  :?:

Rob

iwantanallotment

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2008, 12:23 »
Glad you asked this, deedee  :)
I'm new to heirloom varieties too so will be interested in your replies.
So far I'm growing several heirloom varieties of carrots and tomatoes, seeds/plants from eBay.
I'm also joining the Heritage Seed Library to grow some of theirs. I think DD grows some peas of theirs, so maybe he'll tell you what they're like - I haven't had crops from mine yet :lol:
There's lots of info and suppliers online if you Google 'heirloom varieties' or 'heirloom vegetables'  :wink:
This looks like a good one, deedee http://www.thomasetty.co.uk/vegetables/index.html - has anyone bought from here?

poultrygeist

« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2008, 12:25 »
Are they traditional varieties that have fallen out of use ?

If so, I'm all for it. Would love to try a few once we're established a bit better.

Rob

Hampshire Hog

« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2008, 12:28 »
I have seen heirloom seeds at "Potato days" eg Whitchurch hants in January. Your issue I believe is that EEC rules ban sales of these seeds so you have to locate an event where they are being given away free.

For myself I am still getting up to speed with growing veg well using current varieties never mind an additional challenge.
 :)
Cheers HH
Keep digging

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2008, 12:34 »