Getting a Cat

• 8 Replies

mrs bouquet

Getting a Cat
« on: August 02, 2022, 12:04 »
I have been considering getting a cat for about the last 6 months, and have contacted breeders and cat rescues etc.   I really have decided that I do not want to spend around £1,000 on a pedigree, although I was considering a "Retired Queen"   I spotted a Silver Bengal at a rescue about 20 miles from me.  But he has got problems.  It seems he ran away from his last home and came back 10 days later.  He was handed into the rescue and the owners kept his brother.      It seems he is very timid and will not even mix with the cat-maids.
He is 8 years old.
In my wisdom, I have decided not to proceed with any of them.      Then last evening about 8pm I went to adjust the window blinds and spotted a cat down the end of my garden.   I said all the right things and he/she came running up the garden, in the patio door, and did the leg weaves.  I sat down and thecat jumped onto my lap, and settled down.   I was delighted.   At bed time I had to put the cat out.
I hope it comes to see me again.  Then I shall have a cat share.     Mrs Bouquet  PS.  I think it was a blue burmese.
Birds in cages do not sing  -  They are crying.

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Getting a Cat
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2022, 12:43 »
How lovely for you  :D

Just in case it's on a special diet, best not to feed it though  :)
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

snowdrops

« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2022, 13:17 »
Best of both worlds for you then, all the fun & no cost. What a shame if this had go been 2 years ago you could have considered my late mother’s 2 cats! I’d have delivered them too  :lol:. A local rescue helped find a home for both of them( not together, as they weren’t bothered about each other). It’s called Roxie’s Rescue, they’re always asking for foster homes & adoption homes, usually for older cats.
A woman's place is in her garden.

See my diary pages here