my young chickens have started to lay in the run.

• 6 Replies

wayne*goodman

this is only my 2nd post so i am new to keeping chickens.
firstly, i have 2 young girls in one pen and one has started to lay, but in the run and not in the house where they have nesting boxes is this  normal for a young chicken?

secondly, i purchased a good house and run of an elderly gentlmen 3 weeks ago, as he was in poor health and could no longer look after them. all 3 girls were laying fine up untill friday last week, and now only 1 seems be laying? there has been no changes in there enviroment but i did put some corn mix i got from the farm shop in the run as i was told by them it was fine, to which i have since stopped as told not to as they will not eat the layer pellets,. i am unsure of the age of the 3 girls so perhaps they have stopped laying due to there age? all birds seem in good health and are as active as the day i had them.the only other thing is we have had a lot of stormy weather, thunder lightening etc would this have an efect?
if anybody has any ideas i would be extremly grateful as i hope its not down to somthing i have done incorrectly. :)
wayne.
enjoy life we are not here for long

Chrysalis

Re: my young chickens have started to lay in the run.
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2011, 13:47 »
Hi.  It's probably a case of your new girls settling in.  :happy:They'll lay when they want to (and where!).  Ours have eschewed the henhouse and nest boxes in favour of underneath the coop, which means getting dirty knees to fetch them out. :tongue2:

Welcome the the site.  I expect others will have better advice, but mine is: don't worry, they'll sort themselves.  Some greens and dandelions helps mine to lay...

Casey76

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2011, 14:03 »
Hi wayne, and welcome to the mad hen house :)