broad bean dispute

• 9 Replies

Katt

broad bean dispute
« on: April 11, 2006, 10:13 »
hey guys im currently chitting some broad beans....but me and my boyfriend are having a dispute about how it the best way to go about it!!...I think they should go on a saucer in a little water thats topped up daily...and he says they should be in a bowl completely emmersed in water!!...heeeeeelp meeeeeeee whos right??!!!
Help!! Im just starting out!!

Heather_S

• http://www.stargazy.org/plants/allotment/
broad bean dispute
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2006, 11:17 »
chitting ... broad beans ... I didn't think anyone did that, you just plant the things.
wistfully hoping to one day be mostly organic gardener in North London.

Phoenix

• Experienced Member
broad bean dispute
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2006, 11:21 »
Ye i just plant mine, but if i was to do it ur way i would fully immerse them for 24 hrs
Like War games then click on the link below - goto forum and ask for me (Black_Stalion)
Ambroid Online Multiplayer War Game

Heather_S

• http://www.stargazy.org/plants/allotment/
broad bean dispute
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2006, 13:03 »
I looked up some stuff now. You can soak them for 24hs or overnight. That helps germination. I think if you leave them in water for longer than that, you might possibly drown the seeds. Think of how they'd be if left in soggy mud for more than a day!

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
broad bean dispute
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2006, 14:19 »
I just planted my first lot of broad beans in pots and they are just coming through!

oggy

broad bean dispute
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2006, 14:58 »
Hi all

I was given BB seeds from my 82 yrs old plot neighbour, ( part of last years crop ) and advised to plant out in Feb, this I did, and despite the weather they are 2 to 3 ins up.
No help , just left them to it.

oggy

Phoenix

• Experienced Member
broad bean dispute
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2006, 16:33 »