What do I fill a wooden planter with?

• 9 Replies

Brad26

What do I fill a wooden planter with?
« on: February 06, 2021, 15:57 »
Hi Everyone,

I've made a rather large wooden planter 3m long, 0.9m wide and 0.5m deep. I'm no gardening expert and just intend to put some bedding plants or similar into it. I'm just wondering what to fill it with though, I was thinking a bit of hardcore at the bottom to take up some space and for the earth a mix of top soil and compost with some bark chippings to finish off on top but to be honest i'm not really too sure and was hoping someone on here could point me in the right direction please. 

Many Thanks

Brad
planter.jpg

rowlandwells

Re: What do I fill a wooden planter with?
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2021, 16:47 »
Hi Brad I have  made several wooden planters for bedding but before i made them  i bought a plastic troughs then  made the wooden  trough to fit the plastic planter  because I found the wooden planter lasted longer using the plastic trough

I have also made and painted my wooden planters then lined them with a thick black plastic sheeting  but the plastic trough idea worked better for me hope this helps RW

hasbeans

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2021, 17:23 »
You could throw your kitchen waste in the bottom  before covering with compost.  Watch out with bark chippings, they can steal nutrients until well rotted.

Goosegirl

« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2021, 14:44 »