New to Allotments

• 16 Replies

Jae Dawn

New to Allotments
« on: January 07, 2013, 13:29 »
Hi,

I just got a call from the council that the allotment site that I put my name on the list for 3 years ago.  So excited and scared to death cause I am not exactly sure what to do.  Is there any questions I should ask?  I am suppose to meet the council guy at the allotment site on Thursday so that he can show me the plot.  Is there anything I should look for or ask specifically about?  Sorry I'm a complete novice and have planted in my garden but really haven't had lot of success usually have more insect eating then produce for myself!  Except for lettuces and a few strawberries.  I do have a rotavator at least so that aspect of the allotment I'm not concerned.  Any advice is so appreciated!  Thanks....

m1ckz

Re: New to Allotments
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2013, 13:34 »
wellcome..well im of a mind,,, if u like it take it,,,see how overgrown it is an see if u think u can do it, probably u wont get a choice,,so its take it or leave it,,theres lots of help on here     just ask what you want  an   good luck    mick

pdblake

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2013, 13:43 »
My first advice would be to leave the rotavator at home until you've assesed what weeds you have. Marestail and couch just love being chopped up.

Congrats on getting your plot. I just got mine last May. Take it easy and do a bit at a time. Weed it thoroughly as you go and cover with cardboard and whatever compost/manure you can get until you need to plant.

gavinjconway

• My Allotment Progress Website
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2013, 13:55 »
Well done - I know how excited you must be. I got mine a year ago and love it.

You probably wont have a choice of plots so just be grateful for what has been allocated. All your rules will be in the form you are given to sign...