transplanting marigolds

• 6 Replies

brownp

• Experienced Member
transplanting marigolds
« on: May 20, 2011, 09:25 »
I am a primary school teacher. Our class are making hanging baskets as part of an enterprise initiative.
We have lots of plants growing at various stages, such as marigolds, lobellia etc.
Our issue is storing them - they are currently in modules but we were thinking that they will need more compost if they are to develop properly. We were thinking of putting them in the school garden and then transplanting them into baskets towards the end of the summer. Is this going to be an issue?? If so, can anyone offer advice on what to do with the plants - the biggest issue is moving up to 500 plants inside and out every day at the start and end of the school day.
thanks for any help that you can give

Debz

Re: transplanting marigolds
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2011, 09:29 »
What is stopping you putting them into the baskets just now and giving them a chance to come on in situ.  I would have thought you would want the baskets for the start of summer and not for the end of the summer when the plants will be getting past their best.

brownp

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2011, 09:33 »
Thanks for your reply...the main reason we don't really want to put them in baskets -is that we are making 40+ baskets - so finding somewhere to hang them out of harm's way is difficult if not impossible.
We will be selling the baskets to parents etc as soon as they are in a good condition.

mobilekat

« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2011, 13:52 »
I would suggest getting parents to place a deposit towards their basket now, and then request they provide a bucket for the basket to sit on!

Once hardened off the marigolds etc dont need to come in at night, and I would think baskets sat on buckets are easier to store, and a good height for the kids to water!

I guess you are looking to send them to their permanent homes before the school holidays?