Ill chook

• 20 Replies

koo

Ill chook
« on: May 08, 2010, 18:40 »
Hi there, Its a bit of a long winded one but i would really appreciate your opinions and advice  :) I am quite new to chickens and i am learning fast but want to make sure i am not missing anything.

roughly a month ago a brought 2 warrens 1 welsummer bantam and i pekin. The beak was wet on one of the warrens but we bought her anyway as my son had chosen her and she looked well and bright. Within a few days she went down hill and started to smell and she was exchanged for another warren. She came and also got ill so i took her back and didn't take anymore as i wanted to make sure that the others would be ok. Although they have been ok and eating drinking ect (only the pekin is laying) they have all been wheezing and had slight colds. However today the warren has bubbles in one eye and is moping  :( I understand this to be mycoplasma bactaria and i know it can be treated with tylan or terramycin in the water but my question is would you treat with this at this stage as i have been told that i should just leave them to build immunaty to it. I fear i have brought my girls with a slight case of this but i am worried have they will suddenly all go down hill and ??? who knows  :(

also i have read that once they have this illness it makes them weak and not good layers ect.... any advice would be so welcome. also any ideas for tonics and pick me ups for my poor girls would be so welcome.

please help i dont want to do the wrong thing but i am finding the advice very confusing

many thanks kelly x

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: Ill chook
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2010, 19:59 »
treat all your birds now. The ones with mycoplasma (not all will have it) will be infected for life and in times of stress it will flare up again. It has no bearing on their ability to lay eggs.
Staffies are softer than you think.

koo

« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2010, 21:10 »