New to this forum? Not sure how to do things? Check out the help

HELP ME-I'M A NEWBIE

• 16 Replies

Elixer

HELP ME-I'M A NEWBIE
« on: September 29, 2016, 06:28 »
I am about to start saving towards my very first allotment and I have my eyes on one being sold for around £10,000. I plan to build a garden shed so I may keep my tools on the allotment.

1. I do not understand what legal permissions I have on an allotment once I own it. May I build my garden shed and if I may, what kind of size of a shed? What kind of dimensions may I be able to use up on the allotment after I buy it?

2. I understand that my allotment will also be right next door to other peoples allotments and that means there may be some courtesy rules. What kinds of rules will they be? Am I expected to arrive and leave at particular times? Like a 9-5 schedule? Must I vacate the allotment when it gets dark?

Please hold my hand and guide me through this puzzle.  :ohmy:

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Re: HELP ME-I'M A NEWBIE
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2016, 09:44 »
You obviously don't know a great deal about allotments.  I've never heard of anyone buying an allotment,  we generally rent them at a peppercorn rate.

Let us know your location and we will be able to give you much more relivant advice.

Elixer

« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2016, 09:57 »
You obviously don't know a great deal about allotments.  I've never heard of anyone buying an allotment,  we generally rent them at a peppercorn rate.

Let us know your location and we will be able to give you much more relivant advice.

Hello Sally :) I know nothing about allotments. I love gardening and I want to purchase one. I have come across the following link that leads me to believe that I may purchase an allotment for £10.000 My post code is nw10;

This is the mentioned link
Link removed by administration

Elixer

« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2016, 09:58 »