Poor Germination ?

• 15 Replies

stompy

Poor Germination ?
« on: May 10, 2007, 22:48 »
Hi there again guys, :)

Has anyone had any problems with germination this year, under glass or in the open.

My beets havn't shown in my raised bed, and i sowed a large tray 16"x10", of lettuce and several smaller pots of chillies and peppers amongst other things, in the greenhouse and all i got was about 3 lettuce. :cry:

It's only my second year and i didn't know if it was just me or a more sinister nationwide thing ? :twisted:

noshed

Poor Germination ?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2007, 00:17 »
It's probably you...
All I've found is that spinach and lettuce don't like heat.
Are they damping off?
Self-sufficient in rasberries and bindweed. Slug pellets can be handy.

charliesmum

Poor Germination ?
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2007, 06:35 »
This is my first year of growing my own, and I have had really good germination and all I have used are 19p packets of seeds from Netto

Bagpuss

• Experienced Member
Poor Germination ?
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2007, 07:55 »
I only got four chillies and peppers out of two packets of seeds and I started them in a heated propogator, so whatever youu're doing wrong I must be too. I tried some more in the greenhouse and they haven't budged either.
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

beansticks

Poor Germination ?
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2007, 07:57 »
I have struggled with both cabbage and sprouts,however i think i may have sown them too deep 1st time ,my second sowings much shallower have been more successful.

flatcap

• Experienced Member
Poor Germination ?
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2007, 08:03 »
weve had problems with peppers tomotoes and cucumbers all started off in the greenhouse ,thought it was due to it been our 1st year but other peeps on site have had the same problem :(

WG.

Poor Germination ?
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2007, 08:40 »
Lots of folks have been having problems outdoors with carrot and especially with parsnip.  Dry weather in April, I reckon

Annie