Hello All! Newbie here!!

• 7 Replies

J3FF0RD

Hello All! Newbie here!!
« on: May 23, 2015, 18:16 »
Just wanted to introduce myself to you all before i drive you all up the wall with silly questions haha
After 15 years on waiting list, my mum finally got asked if she was still interested...snapped it up!
Ive been into gardening myself since little, did agricultural science at school...but didnt go anywhere with it  :unsure:
Took advantage of the weather today and went for scouting mission....I didn't realise how over grown it it was  :ohmy:

We have inherited;

1) some type of currant bushes (any idea how to identfy, or do you wait until harvest?

2) some type of onions, the leaves/shoots have some kind of bud on a couple of them? identification?

3} what i think is radish. I dug one up but seemed to be a big thick deep root but really did smell of radish. If the allotment has been empty for a couple of years would the plant just keep growing?

Many Thanks for acceptence

Craig

LotuSeed

Re: Hello All! Newbie here!!
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2015, 18:46 »
15 years? Good gracious!  Congrats and welcome ☺️
Can't help you with the currant query, they aren't popular in my neck of the woods
The onions sound like they may be going to seed, if they are you can either pull them up and use them or break the seed stem off and leave them. Could be garlic too though, they do the same thing!
Since you said it's been several years since it was occupied some of the things growing may have come about from being untended and left to reseed.
Happy Gardening!
Avg Last Frost Date, April 9, Avg First Frost Date, Oct 26
Avg Growing Season, 200 days

Norfolkgrey

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2015, 18:48 »
Hi and welcome  :)

1) If you rub a leaf or break a small twiggy bit and sniff it. If there is no smell then it is either red or white, if it smells of black currant then it is just that, a black currant  :)