pruning fruit trees for a first timer

• 6 Replies

3759allen

pruning fruit trees for a first timer
« on: April 09, 2015, 20:13 »
i'm a complete newbie to growing fruit trees and have read a lot of information about pruning fruit trees. from what i've read i think i would be better to train them in a fan.

i planted peach, apricot, apple, pear, plum (one of each) and 2 cherry trees (different varieties) spring. i expected to get minimal growth last year and i could leave pruning until this spring.

the apple and pear have not done a lot as expected so hopefully these will be easier to start to train. but the other trees, especially the cherries have really taken off and now i don't really know where to start.

most of what i've read say to prune the main stem just above 2 healthy shoots or branches about 40cm from the base. my main query is that not a lot of my branches are ideally situated and/ or are un equal sized, so do i make good with the branches i have or cut them all off and use new buds to make fresh branches?

it seems mad to cut so much back if i should use buds to make better placed branches, but i suppose in the long term will be better.

i have attached pictures to show what i mean. before everyone says, i don't have any posts and wires in place yet (these will be going up as soon as i can get some posts). and i know they are a little tight together and ideally probably not enough space but it's all i have.
trees 001.jpg
trees 002.jpg
trees 003.jpg
trees 004.jpg

3759allen

Re: pruning fruit trees for a first timer
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2015, 20:18 »
more pictures.

in order there are cherry, cherry, plum, apricot, peach, apple, pear
trees 005.jpg
trees 006.jpg
trees 007.jpg

Comfr3y

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2015, 21:28 »
Dear 3759