pecking people

• 15 Replies

dawneb

pecking people
« on: October 23, 2007, 22:37 »
hello I am new to keeping chickens. We have had our chooks for a month  now and have found this forum fab for ideas and advise. We have 2 goldlines one has been laying for a week and the other is yet to lay.The trouble we are having is that they keep pecking us.I have 3 children so chose goldlines because we were told they were friendly.They keep running to us in yhe garden and are pecking our legs trousers shoes hands and have even my 3year olds eyelid when he bent down to stroke one. Its sad because my children are running scared and i have to limit the time the chooks are out of the run. please help what are we doing wrong. :(

WG.

pecking people
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2007, 22:41 »
Welcome dawneb.  I know almost nothing about chooks but an expert will be along soon.

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
pecking people
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2007, 22:41 »
Welcome to the forums Dawn  :D

It's normal for chooks to peck at things.  It's the only way to find out what's edible.  You will need to get them accustomed to people and being handled and hand fed if you want them to become pets.

dawneb

pecking people
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2007, 23:00 »
thanks for that.Thought we were doing something wrong needed to be reassured.

muntjac

pecking people
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2007, 00:17 »
only go outside with corn in ya pocket .take a few seeds out n hold em out in ya hand .if they take it all well n good of not just drop a few on the ground so thhey see its ur hand with the treats in :wink: ... fellas ,it werks on women to  :wink:  :lol:
still alive /............

chicksforkicks

• Experienced Member
pecking people
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2007, 03:28 »
true dat! :lol:  :wink:
-If life gives you lemons find someone who got vodka and have a party
-If it doesn't fit;force it. If it breaks; you needed a new one anyway