A little advice, please?

• 14 Replies

Ulalume1

A little advice, please?
« on: March 27, 2020, 10:29 »
Hi all.
A total newbie, both to the forum and to chickens. We had been given four hens and a rooster and later acquired two new hens. Weve no idea of breeds or age and no info was forthcoming. Today we notice one of our little hens, after coming out of the house for the day, was lethargic, had little interest in interacting with the others and ate very sparingly. She's pretty much standing in place in a slightly hunched position and is closing her eyes for longer periods than usual, only coming alert to a sudden noise or near movement.
Up to this point she has been fine, laying normally and is just like our others, ordinarily manic and chicken-like. I've grabbed her and checked her over. No indication of trouble with her eyes or breathing and she was as stubborn as usual about being handled.
I'd be grateful for any advice.
Many thanks

New shoot

• Global Moderator
Re: A little advice, please?
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2020, 11:03 »
Hi and welcome  :)

As well as her breathing, did you check for her crop?  It could be the other end and a problem with egg laying.

Some links here from the main site and forum

https://www.chickens.allotment-garden.org/poultry-illnesses-ailments/impacted-bound-crop-chickens-guide/

https://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=64395.0

See point 5 of the last one.

Hope that helps  :)

Ulalume1

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2020, 11:35 »
Thanks new shoot, I'll check her crop and also check for a stuck egg and will report back. As a point of learning for me, would any of these conditions cause any loss of colour from the face / comb at all? Her colour is fine by the way but I would assume, as with people, the blood supply to these areas may be redirected when a hen is ill

New shoot

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2020, 12:02 »