Pale-ing Comb - UPDATED WITH PICS

• 19 Replies

SurreyLass

• Experienced Member
Pale-ing Comb - UPDATED WITH PICS
« on: May 03, 2011, 18:52 »
I have had my 2 girls for about 5 weeks now, I bought them as POL, and one, Milly started laying 5 days after I got her, and has laid every day since.

I have just been out having a chat with them, and noticed that Milly's comb is paler than it was - she laid today and doesnt seem to be doing anything different, BUT I am a huge novice at this, so dont know what else to do.

I bought them vaccinated, and when I cleaned the coop on Sunday afternoon didnt see any signs of beasties.

Thanks in advance for your wisdom in all things chicken!
« Last Edit: May 04, 2011, 13:40 by SurreyLass »

SurreyLass

• Experienced Member
Re: Pale-ing Comb
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2011, 19:31 »
Oh and I checked the roosting bars when I cleaned them out and gave it a good clean and treated with DE. I have put some DE in their dust bath.

I am really worried now. What have I done wrong?

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2011, 20:48 »
There's probably nothing wrong.  Check again tomorrow.  If you sitll thing there's something wrong take a picture and let us see it.

SurreyLass

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2011, 21:12 »
Oh thank you Aunt Sally - was beginning to get a complex because no-one was replying to me!

She is still in charge (watched their bedtime antics, and all was totally normal!!) and is doing everything as normal. Despite being the boss, she is the more timid of the two, and doesnt particularly like me touching her, but she still comes running to see whats what!
Here's hoping all is ok, and I am just being paranoid - mad how quickly these creatures become so important isnt it.