Ferline tomato seed out of circulation

• 4 Replies

ricky

Ferline tomato seed out of circulation
« on: September 14, 2021, 07:53 »
A bit of a conundrum my main seed supplier Moles Seeds has told me this will be the last year they will be keeping Ferline tomato seed as other newer seed have better resistance to blight , now I have been growing tomatoes over 50 years and Ferline for many years and have found Ferline to be the best tasting tomato ever, now that Ferline are going out of circulation and it being a F1 variety can I save the seed I know this goes against everything that F1 seeds can't be saved but how will I keep this wonderful variety alive any answers would be grateful appreciated thanks .

New shoot

• Global Moderator
Re: Ferline tomato seed out of circulation
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2021, 08:54 »
Tomato seeds will keep for several years, particularly if the packet is not opened.  I would buy a few packs and store them carefully.  You might also find other suppliers do keep them on the list or you can find them online from the big market place sites like Amazon.

F1 seeds don’t come true, so if you save seeds you might get something very like the Ferline you know and love, or you might not.  If you have the room, I would save a few seeds and grow them to see what you get.  If it works you have your supply and if not, you will have your spare packs to keep you going while you find another supplier  :)

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2021, 08:59 »
Tomato seed stays viable for about 8 years, so if you feel that it's worthwhile buy enough seed to last you for a few years at least... (snap NS!)
This is also interesting