Letting my chickens roam?

• 5 Replies

Feathers

Letting my chickens roam?
« on: November 26, 2009, 12:55 »
Hi I am new to looking after chickens and I have 3 about 19 weeks old - they are my new babies  :) I get the feeling that they would like to wander about rather than stay in the run that they have.  How do I stop them from leaving the garden or not coming back in the house?  Do they have a tendancy to wander off?  I have a neighbour whose chickens wander everywhere even next to the road?  Please some advice.

Beano

Re: Letting my chickens roam?
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2009, 13:21 »
We have 3 and have had ours for 18 months now. When we first had them we would let them roam when we were at home and in the garden. We were very nervous at first but they were fine. I noticed that they would all three go round along all the hedges just before they were due to go in.
If I were you I would let them out for an hour or so before it got dark to start with and then throw some corn IN the run when you want them to go in.
We always leave food and water for them in the run and never in the garden so that they know that is the place to go.
We did have our moments, when we had to round them up. Me my husband and annoyingly the cat would join in, trying to get them in when we wanted. We soon got to learn that it was much easier to trust them to go in on their own when they were ready.
Our garden has plenty of chickeney places for them to scratch around and is much more appealing that our neighbouring gardens. Lets hope yours will enjoy your garden as much.
Good luck!!
El.

ehs284

« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2009, 14:16 »
Are they safe from dogs etc? Ours have a large run, but I let them out into the 'yard' for a change when I'm working there. This is safe, but the grass is greener etc and they love to run off if they think I'm not watching (yes, they are that devious!) and one was killed in the summer.

judrop

• the chooks !
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2009, 16:03 »