Sweetpeas in Scotland?

• 3 Replies

Lesleyk

• Experienced Member
Sweetpeas in Scotland?
« on: December 11, 2012, 17:29 »
 :) Despite my situation on the wild west coast of Scotland, only yards from the sea and frequently buffeted by strong winds and salt-laden spray, I have managed to find a way to grow most of the things I need or want, using a mixture of protective methods and crossed fingers.  I have been growing sweet peas every year for about four years with some degree of success (last year was brilliant), by planting them in pots and training them up trellises that are protected from the wind by several layers of netting. I grow the plants from seed raised in my greenhouse.   I want to grow more of the one-colour varieties, specifically the pink-reds, rather than the mixture of colours I have been growing up to now.  Do you have any suggestions for this?  My understanding is that the single colours tend to be less hardy, but that may just be a misconception.  Thanks, Lesley. :)

Trillium

Re: Sweetpeas in Scotland?
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2012, 15:26 »
I've never heard that theory before. If you want all one colour then you'll need to buy all new seeds that are planted alone since sweet peas can cross-pollinate with whatever is in the wind. Vegetable peas don't cross, but sweet peas, though normally self-pollinating, can be accessed by determined bees and it takes only a few crosses and you've got some new colours. You'll need to mark or pull those changed ones in the following year to keep your colour strain pure.

LINK

Lesleyk

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2012, 16:24 »