what to grow tomatoes in

• 20 Replies

helluvatractor

what to grow tomatoes in
« on: April 08, 2007, 20:36 »
hi all, i'm quite new to this gardening lark and i've recently aquired a nice large (15' x 9') greenhouse. Unfortunately i had to site it on about half a foot of soil, below which was are old slabs and a patio.
i've made a timber frame, (no bottom)about 12 foot long, 2 foot wide and about a foot high, which i intend to sit along one side of the greenhouse onto the existing soil.

I'd like to grow tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers etc within it, i'd just like to know what would be the best growing medium to add. eg. potting compost?, topsoil? (the farm where i work had very sandy, quite alkali soil, which i could take some of), farmyard manure? or a mixture of all, also any nutrients eg. blood , fish and bone.

any help greatly appreciated, as i'd like to prepare a top-notch medium for them to grow in, cheers!
 :D  :D

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
what to grow tomatoes in
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2007, 21:08 »
If it was me think I would go for the a mix of the three, topsoil, farmyard manure ( well rotted ), potting compost.
Would only plant tom's into it when the first trusses have formed. else they will just go nuts and produce loads of leaf with all those goodies in it.  :D
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
what to grow tomatoes in
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2007, 22:50 »
I'm with the mixture idea but rather than fish, blood & bone I'd use a tomato feed. if you have some wood ashes, mix those in as they'll help your tomatoes along.
Don't use woodashes from burning melamine or stuff that was painted / cresoted though as you could be poluting the soil.
Check out our books - ideal presents

John and Val Harrison's Books

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
what to grow tomatoes in