How to build a stone trough (for the clueless).

• 8 Replies

SusieB

• Experienced Member
How to build a stone trough (for the clueless).
« on: March 26, 2014, 17:38 »
I want to build a stone trough for a fig tree.  It is next to where I have chopped down a laurel tree, so I won't be able dig/hack down too far.  But this shallow stone trough on top of the soil will add a  bit of depth of decent soil.

I am a building novice.  I have three heavy stone slabs 2.5inches thick, 12 inches high.  The trough will be 28inches long by 22 inches wide.  I haven't found a slab for the fourth side, but I can use anything as it's against a fence. 

How do I stick them together? :unsure:

m1ckz

Re: How to build a stone trough (for the clueless).
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2014, 18:26 »
mortar           GRIPFILL 

Snoop

« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2014, 18:33 »
I'm not a fig tree expert but I've seen quite a few growing and I can't envisage how you would grow one in a trough, though it sounds almost like you're building a three-sided wall with single pieces of stone for each wall. How do you foresee the roots developing? Will it be a large trough (not just depth but surface area)?

SusieB

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2014, 18:42 »
Is that mortar and gripfill, or one or the other.  Gripfill sounds easiest, but I might be brave and try mortar.  The trough will be 28ins x 22ins (surface area) and placed over soil for the roots to carry on down.  I believe figs like their roots constraining to fruit well, and it's been in a large pot for 15 years, so I am hoping this will work.

Snoop

« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2014, 19:15 »