Maximising output

• 28 Replies

RobRob

Maximising output
« on: October 05, 2013, 16:50 »
I have a decent sized area to grow in but it doesn't meet the demands I put on it so any advice to maximise output will be welcome.
I have been doing this properly for two years now so my fruit area should be established for next summer. gooseberries, raspberries, blueberries, strawberries,

It's the veg side which can be altered no end.
Some things I am doing to help so far include:

Overwintering peppers and chillies, earlier start and more fruit,
Deep beds in greenhouse rather than just pots etc,
Lots of good compost and manure,

What tricks do you have? What varieties swamp you with produce?

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: Maximising output
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2013, 17:10 »
Most important - what do you like to eat, which tells us what you want to grow  ;) and roughly how big is the 'decent size area' you're growing in ?

madcat

« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2013, 18:20 »
and are you talking volume or value?  main crop potatoes give huge volume but arent that expensive to buy.  Frozen peas may not be as nice as off the vine but are good and cheap.  Fresh beans on the other hand are horribly expensive to buy so might be better use of the land if it is £s you are trying to save.
All we need to make us really happy is something to be enthusiastic about (Charles Kingsley)

RobRob

« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2013, 21:02 »
Volume!
Eg, I grow runner beans a lot because there is good output for space used,
I am not a fussy eater, I just want LOTS of good veg,

Auntiemogs

« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2013, 21:23 »
I grew 'climbing' courgettes this year with good results... :)
I would rather live in a world
where my life is surrounded by mystery
than live in a world so small that my mind could comprehend it...✿~ Harry Emerson Fosdick

RobRob

« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2013, 21:39 »