Allotment layout

• 26 Replies

Nirm

Allotment layout
« on: June 30, 2012, 08:55 »
Hello,

I have recently obtained a 10 pole Allotment and have just started clearing it. It is square in  shape and I want to put a path that will run centrally so that the beds are on either side.

Can anyone advise how large my beds need to be?

I am completely new to this but I must say I am loving every minute of it.

Hoping someone can help and thanks in advance.

Nikkithefoot

Re: Allotment layout
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2012, 09:25 »
Personally I don't have specific beds for anything. I have divided my plot into roughly three areas and plant according to a rough rotation. Year 1 heavily manured and planted with potatoes, year 2 brassicas, garlic and onions, year 3 root crops.

Obviously it really depends on what you want to grow, your soil type,  how able you are etc.
Some folks live by raised beds, I don't like them but that is only my preference.
I was put on this earth to accomplish a certain number of things; right now I am so far behind I will never die.

plot-life

• Plot-Life Blogspot
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2012, 10:16 »
Hi Nerm

I'd keep the width to double the length of your arms, so you can weed from the paths without tramping all over the soil...

Good luck

Nirm

« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2012, 10:23 »
Thanks so much for the quick reply, heading down to the allotment now!

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2012, 10:26 »
I have 3 beds on my half-plot, which are about 6x3 yards.  However, this means I do need to walk on them to weed, plant, harvest etc.

I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Kajazy

• Experienced Member
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2012, 10:56 »
There are basically two ways of doing it (well, actually hundreds, but let's not get into that!  :) )