New to this forum? Not sure how to do things? Check out the help

• 9 Replies

Snowpea

« on: March 30, 2019, 21:43 »
Hi everyone,
I have just joined. Its a really interesting site and you all seem very friendly and knowledgeable.
I live in Australia and have been gardening for 30+ years but I am by no means an expert. There is always something new to learn.  I am an avid vegetable grower which is why I joined this group. I have a question on Jerusalem artichokes which I will ask in the appropriate section. Don't want to get off on the wrong foot by asking questions in the wrong place. :)
Cheers

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Re: New member
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2019, 22:35 »
Welcome Snowpea.

Where do you garden in Australia?

I would think that your climate varies hugely throughout Oz.

Snowpea

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2019, 23:25 »
Hi Aunt Sally
Thanks for the welcome. I'm not sure if I am replying to your reply the right way. This is only the second time I have joined a discussion group. Last one was 15 odd years ago and it folded soon after. :(  So I'm really winging it here.
Yes the climate varies quite a lot in Australia. From tropical in the north to cold temperate in the south and everything in between. We even have alpine with snow but it is a very small area.
I live in Canberra and it is situated in what is called the Southern Tablelands. The summers are hot (30+ degrees C) and the winters cold. The winter temp at night has been known to go as low as -10 but usually -3ish to 0. We get frost but not as severe as I have experienced on a visit to the UK. The ground doesn't freeze and it clears by about 10:00am. The days are, if they don't start foggy and overcast, clear and pleasant. Autumn is mild, warm days and cool nights and Spring is cold and windy and wettish and downright miserable. Our worst season in my opinion. If you want to visit come in Autumn.

sunshineband

• Global Moderator
  • Tallest Sunflower prizewinner 2014