need advice quickly

• 39 Replies

Kate and her Ducks

need advice quickly
« Reply #30 on: August 18, 2008, 18:38 »
Also sounds like Vit B (of which niacin is one) problem to me as my books also really concentrate on Niacin deficiencies in realation to leg problems although calcium can be a problem. Most grain and feed is high in vit E so it would surprise me although I am not an expert. Apparently ducklings usual source is insects but marmite has some in it. I used Lifeguard tonic in their water which gives the required concentration of niacin plus others which is a little pricy but I've had no problems. Of course it might not have made any difference at all. :lol:
You can get it in tablet form from a chemist or health shop and dilute it in water (its also called Vit B3 or niacinamide)

Good luck
Be like a duck. Calm on the surface but always paddling like the dickens underneath.

Kate and her Ducks

need advice quickly
« Reply #31 on: August 18, 2008, 21:00 »
Oops, have just realised that when I did my maths the figures I have are for mg/l and not gallons so would not fulfill all their requirements, especially for treatment once established. Sorry :oops:

dawne

need advice quickly
« Reply #32 on: August 19, 2008, 09:43 »
Update:

Went to the farm shop and got a soluble vitamin pack, this morning (although it could be wishful thinking) it appears that there is more strength in the legs as the duck is able to balance now whereas before it just kept falling over, still has the hobble on but the shoes came off!