Preserving Food

• 5 Replies

lesley

Preserving Food
« on: September 17, 2007, 15:23 »
Hi Everybody,
I am a researcher studying the ways in which we preserve food that we have grown ourselves.  The posts are very interesting and helpful to me, but I would really like to hear from anybody who did this sort of thing during World War II.
If you did, or know anybody who did please contact me via the forum.
thanks,
Lesley

muntjac

Preserving Food
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2007, 15:28 »
we had a hole in the hill filled with ice from  pond llo.used to be a great den :wink:
still alive /............

lesley

Preserving Food
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2007, 15:58 »
where was this?  did the ice eventually melt as it warmed up and what did you keep in there?  :)

muntjac

Preserving Food
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2007, 18:29 »
it was a cave made of brick in louth and in the olden days they cut ice and took it in there with the foods etc and just closed a big door when it was done .12 by 12 ft and 7ft high i think ( i was a lotttt younger then_. stayed all year to summer. meat /fish etc kiled pigs in autumn n kept it there til Christmas unsmoked  etc

WG.

Preserving Food
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2007, 18:36 »
You can see the largest Ice House in the country on http://www.undiscoveredscotland.co.uk/speybay/speybay/index.html

Trillium

Preserving Food
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2007, 19:32 »